Monday, 20 September 2010

Belle and Sebastian

Belle and Sebastian Write About Love

Ah, Belle and Sebastian write about love. What else is new? The band has titled their forthcoming 8th studio album Belle and Sebastian Write About Love – after all, that is the reason why we fell in love with them in the first place.

Way back in 1996 life itself became just a little brighter with the mere existence of one of indie rocks greatest acts – Belle & Sebastian. They were like a security blanket against the twists and turns of failed relationships, shitty jobs and the general cruelty inherent in the human condition. They sung about damaged people in damaged times, but theirs was a voice of understanding and comfort that made the slog not only tolerable, but somehow beautiful. Their wit and wisdom would save many a rainy day, and when they played happy, you couldn’t help but get caught up in their infectious joy. It’s been four long years since we have heard from them, but on October 11 Belle & Sebastian will return with “Write About Love” just in time for Autumn, when they sound even better, although they always sound great.

In the run up to “Write About Love” the band has released a short 30 minute film bookend by two excellent new tracks. In between you will hear interviews about the state of the band, and most interestingly a commentary on the state of music in the age of the Internet. The film is far from a cheap promotional gimmick, instead the band turn in something interesting, thoughtful and downright thrilling after you hear their performances. Four years has been a long time to wait for a new Belle & Sebastian, but if these songs are any indication, it will have been well worth it.


01 I Didn’t See It Coming
02 Come on Sister
03 Calculating Bimbo
04 I Want the World to Stop
05 Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John [ft. Norah Jones]
06 Write About Love [ft. Carey Mulligan]
07 I’m Not Living in the Real World
08 Ghost of Rockschool
09 Read the Blessed Pages
10 I Can See Your Future
11 Sunday’s Pretty Icons


No comments:

Post a Comment